Love, Strippers and Heartbreak (Date 9 of 35)

18 Sep

“He’s the ONE!” Emily screamed into the phone. I held the phone away from my ear as she continued shrieking about Travis’ outer and inner beauty, stumbling through my thoughts for a supportive response. But I couldn’t come up with one. I had been here with Emily before. And I already knew where it was going to end. In my mind, I was selecting the bottles of wine we’d share while not watching specific episodes of Sex and the City, as she complained about Travis totally misrepresenting himself.

Emily had told me plenty of times the qualities she was looking for in her future husband: financially stable, ambitious and family oriented. Those were her deal breakers. She called it her “DB list” – aka her “Don’t Bullshit” list. “So, how did you find out Travis meets your DB list?” I asked. “He’s a Doctor!” she replied enthusiastically. “A DOCTOR!” she exclaimed again! I waited, silently. “And he has 2 sisters, twins, who live only 30 minutes away!” I still waited. “Isn’t that great?! A financially sound, ambitious, guy with a great family! Finally!” “Yup,” I responded, as I mentally added another bottle of wine to my “console Emily” list.

Cut to two months later. Sex and the City was playing in the background and 2 empty wine bottles were sitting on the coffee table in front of us. “I can’t believe he lied to me!” she sobbed, tears causing the mascara to stream down her cheeks. I just nodded and opened the third bottle. I didn’t have the heart to tell Emily that Travis hadn’t lied. Emily had just asked the wrong questions.

Society views being “single” as a problem. Finding your partner is the solution to that problem. So, how do you arrive at the solution? You trouble shoot. Our initial interactions with a potential partner are nothing more than “trouble shooting.” A process of elimination. But, for that process to be successful you have to ask the right questions. Emily wanted a financially stable man. So she asked Travis what he did and, when he responded that he was a doctor, she assumed she had the answer she sought. What she didn’t know, was that Travis had a gambling problem. And an addiction to strippers. And $300,000.00 in debt. Emily wanted a genuine family man. So she asked Travis if he had siblings and where they lived and if he saw them often and, when he said he had 2 sisters who lived 30 minutes away, she assumed that he was close to his family. What she didn’t know, was that Travis hadn’t spoken to his sisters in over 10 years and had stolen money from one of them to fund said gambling and stripper addictions. He hated kids and he thought marriage was cliché.

Northern Virginia Magazine’s Little Red Book Blog recently interviewed me about dating trends in the Metro DC area. I polled the members of Singles in the Suburbs prior to the interview and almost every member, male and female, responded the same way. Dating in DC is like a job interview, only, the interviewer is asking questions that ensure they won’t find the meaningful connection they seek. Questions like “What’s your job?” “How much money do you make?” “Do you own your own home?” “What kind of car do you drive?”

Busboys & Poets on 5th and K

Going on 35 “first dates” in 35 consecutive days, I’ve learned to expect the unexpected. Especially when it comes to the questions that I’ll be asked. As I sat across the table from Billy at Busboys and Poets on 5th and K in DC on Friday night, I braced myself for the “interview” that I knew would follow. Where I lived. How much I made. Where I worked. What was wrong with me that I had to go on 35 dates in 35 consecutive days. So I was pleasantly surprised when Billy asked “What do you like to do for fun?” The conversation that stemmed from that simple, yet refreshing, question was stimulating and informative. I discovered that Billy had just earned his Green Belt (he’s disciplined). He had recently performed stand-up comedy, for the first time, to a receptive crowd (he appreciates humor). He loved improv (he’s a spontaneous thinker) and he came on the 35 dates night because it never hurt to meet a new person and he’s up for anything (he’s open to adventure). That information enabled me to ask more specific questions that helped me learn about his spiritual beliefs, his morals, the quality of his relationships with friends and family and his attitudes on many topics, his past relationships and his goals. Simply put, I was able to learn about Billy’s character. And learning about a person’s character is a more helpful diagnostic tool for trouble shooting your “single problem” than learning how much money they make or what they drive.

Two hours later, Billy and I exited the cafe and went outside where we proceeded to talk for another 30 minutes. The quality of the conversation was great. As a mathematician, Billy’s insight and analysis on issues is insightful. In fact, he’s the one that broached the topic of people asking the wrong questions and arriving at the wrong solutions, always acting surprised that they reached the same, failed, result – which led to the blog that you are reading today.

Billy said it best, “You know where you are and you know where you want to be. So how do you get from point A to point B? You need to be careful that the data you analyze is the data that will help you arrive at the solution. And it won’t ever be a straight line that connects the dots. And it won’t ever be easy to see the connection on paper. You have to stop, do your research, analyze, interpret, conceptualize and apply the data. It involves your mind. It won’t be black and white. If you rush this process, you have to be prepared that you could be wrong and that you won’t come up with the right solution. In which case, you have to be prepared to start all over again.”

10 Responses to “Love, Strippers and Heartbreak (Date 9 of 35)”

  1. Marlene September 18, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    I agree with asking the right questions. I also agree it’s good to see people in action as actions speak louder than words. I don’t think being single is a problem to be solved. In fact a lot of people are not choosing to get married at all these days and are seeing marriage as passe. I don’t think the marriage pressure applies as much as it used to, but is more self-induced. Just my take.

  2. Christine September 19, 2011 at 8:03 am #

    I lived in NoVA for 35 years and did most of my adult dating there, and it never felt right. A year after moving to Georgia, I decided it was time to start dating. I was pleasantly surprised to find that dating down here was similar to your experience with Billy. The quality of conversation was much improved – not geared towards what you do, where you live, what kind of car you drive, blah blah blah. In fact, in the conversations leading up to our first date and then on the first date, Jim never once asked what I did for a living. It was refreshing. I don’t envy anyone trying to find the right mate in the Metro DC area.

  3. etchuck September 19, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    The problem with approaching dating as if it were a job interview is precisely this. I think it’s heightened in DC and New York, but there is the “social/networking” element of going out with someone. Status is a sign of one’s influence and power; I presume we all one someone who is a financially stable, ambitious, family-oriented professional to be our President, Senator, Congressman, etc. around here, especially when some of the social parties around here is full of other couples who have all that. Maybe that’s the way many of us elect our politicians to office, and … well, you see what happens there.

  4. jenniferlourdes September 19, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    As a former High School Mathlete (haha) I really appreciate Billy’s analysis! I have never heard anything quite like it, and it makes total sense to me although it does seem to be lacking in the “heart/love” area…or maybe that is just one of the many parts of the equation.

    Either way, I like the idea that you need to know to ask the “right” questions in order to stop getting the same wrong, failed results. I also the idea that you need to be careful and objective in analyzing the data and see what is ACTUALLY there rather than what you want to be there or what you see as potential for being there. Otherwise you end up unknowingly falling for a doctor with a gambling and stripper addiction, right?! 🙂

  5. Catherine Hedden September 20, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Yes, there are “analytical” questions, then there are questions of the heart. It seems as if the analytical mathematician allowed his heart to ask the questions. Very smart.

    Cousin Cathy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strategy and Arms Control (Date 11 of 35) « Rita's Quest - September 21, 2011

    […] Other times, even if we’ve had “the talk”, we don’t yet have enough GOOD information to make a proper analysis. Instead, we stress that we have to make a decision at all, and then compound that fear with a […]

  2. Tick Tock to the Universe’s Clock (Date 26 of 35) « Rita's Quest - October 6, 2011

    […] weren’t the right relationships is because I didn’t pay attention to key elements.  I didn’t ask the right questions at the outset.  I was too worried about the future and not paying attention to the present.  I […]

  3. Could He be the Father of my Children? (Date 28 of 35) « Rita's Quest - October 9, 2011

    […] not the right relationship for me.  This is because, for me, this question is one of the “right questions.“  It makes me focus on the person’s anger management skills (or lack thereof), how […]

  4. Ten Point Must (Date 31 of 35) « Rita's Quest - October 12, 2011

    […] that I wasn’t repeating mistakes from my past.  So I focused the conversation on the “right questions.”  I internally analyzed the answers.  I searched for the “authentic Rich.”  […]

  5. Shirts Off – It’s Time to Win a Prize! « Rita's Quest - January 11, 2012

    […] links you click on to find this blog.  I know the search terms you use that find my blog (“How to Break a Stripper’s Heart” seems to be one of the most frequently used search terms leading you here.  Seriously?!)  […]

Leave a Reply

