A Date, The Mission and a Dominatrix – What Could Go Wrong? (Date 14 of 35)

24 Sep

I grabbed Sara’s hand, allowing her to wind me through the dark and foggy room.  Coming from somewhere in the distance was the  “thump thump thump” of music.  I looked around for our other friends, Erin and Carolyn, but couldn’t see them.  I couldn’t see anything!  It was pitch black.  I clasped onto Sara’s hand tighter as she pulled me through a doorway and into…a church?!  I stood, motionless, my eyes darting around the room.  There was a huge stained glass window with light streaming through the panes, but it was night?!   There was music, but it was loud, vibrating, POUNDING?!  There was a cross, but it was covered in barbed wire?!  I looked up and there was an angel with huge white wings!  Only, this angel was wearing tighty whities and dancing on a table?!  I looked to my left and saw Carolyn, who was speechless.   Sara was already on the dance floor.  Someone came up behind me and I jumped.  It was Erin.  “I sure as hell need a drink, I don’t know about you,”  she said as she made a bee-line for the bar.  I was hot on her heels.

The Mission

We were at The Mission, a nightclub in Elgin, IL.  It was techno night and nudity and glow sticks abounded as far as the eye could see.   At some point during the night, I got separated from the girls and clung to a small table on the side of the wall.  I was miserable.  The place, the people, the music.  Just plain uncomfortable.  “Why did I even come?” I asked myself.  No way was I going to have any fun in a place like this.  A guy came over and handed me a drink.  Over the loud music he yelled, “My name is Dave and I think you are HOT!”  I just nodded.  He stood there for a minute, doing some weird head bob.  “You don’t look like you are having fun!” he screamed.  “I’m not,” I screamed back.  “You wanna dance?”  I shook my head no.  “You should smile.  And Dance.  Life is too short.  Lighten up and have fun!”   Then he walked away.   I poured the beer into a plastic plant.  No way was I going to get ruffied in the middle of all of this!  

Image by Techno Boy on MySpace

About 20 minutes later, Dave approached again.  He had a bottle of beer, with the top still sealed.  “I’m not trying to drug  you, promise,” he said as he handed me the beer.   He smiled.  He had cute dimples.  “You aren’t?”  I asked.  He shook his head.  I looked at him and asked, “Why not?”

An hour later, we were on the dance floor.  A glow stick was around my neck.  Two hours later, I was on a table with glow sticks in my hands.  Three hours later I was kissing Dave in the middle of the dance floor.  Erin pulled at my arm.  “Alright lover girl.  It’s time to get the hell out of here.” 

I reminded myself of that night at The Mission during Date 14.  Ken and I were invited to be guests on The JellyVision Show, an internet show broadcast live from The Soundry in Vienna, VA.  The Soundry is a very eclectic place.  Part art studio, part coffee-house, part theatre, part music hall – it attracts very bold personalities.  Ken was wonderful, greeting me with a gift and a warm hug.  To break the ice, we walked around the studio looking at the local artwork.  Soon, it was time for the show to start.  And I was nervous! 

JellyVision Hosts Tim & Jelly

 
 
I sat, listening to the first guest discuss his company, FILMPROV.  And looked across the studio at the last guest, BeBe S. Bellamont , an actress/nude model/dominatrix/much more (link not safe for work).  I was completely out of place.  I felt the muscles in my body tighten up.  I found myself thinking, “Why am I here.  No way am I going to have fun here.”  Then I remembered The Mission.  Not just the nightclub, but my mission for the 35/35 project.  I forced my thoughts back to the present, took a few deep breaths and shook off the negative energy.  Remembering Dave’s words from so long ago, I smiled, grabbed Ken’s hand and made my way to the stage!
 
 

Date 14, Ken; JellyVision Appearance

 
 
Ken was GREAT!  What a sport!  Answering the craziest of questions.  “Dating” me for the first time on a live broadcast!  His ease and energy and humor allowed me to feel the same.  The night got crazy and by the end of it all, Ken was looking at BeBe’s cleavage, I got a date with the FILMPROV guy and we were both learning how much more a Dominatrix can make by incorporating a whip into her arsenal.  It may sound a little over the top – but boy did we laugh.  We laughed all night long!
 
 

JellyVision; That's a Wrap!

 
I’ll never have another evening like I did on Date 14.  It is simply too unique to ever replicate.   I didn’t take it seriously.   I laughed.  I felt happy.  I just had FUN!  A Date, The Mission and a Dominatrix – What Could Go Wrong?  Absolutely nothing!
 
“It is important to not take yourself too seriously. Life is a joyous, magical experience and laughter is an essential element to happiness and fulfillment.”  
 
 – Deepak Chopra
 
 
4 Responses to “A Date, The Mission and a Dominatrix – What Could Go Wrong? (Date 14 of 35)”

  1. jenniferlourdes September 24, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Haha I love it, what a great date! Experiencing something so “over the top” is fun to shake things up once in a while!

  2. Erin September 25, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    hahah oh The Mission! who can forget the gender neutral bathrooms, swings hanging from the ceiling and women with man hands.

    • Rita September 26, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

      I’m sure that’s the first of many memories to appear in this blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. (Date 19 of 35) « Rita's Quest - September 29, 2011

    […] me up from acting class and we headed to The Soundry in Vienna.  (The same place where I was for Date #14.)  The Soundry is quickly becoming one of my favorite places in Fairfax County!  Part open art […]

Leave a Reply

