Does This Font Make Me Look Fat? – From Arial to Arial Narrow in 35 Days!

28 Oct

I’m great at starting things.  I’m not always so great with follow through.  Revise that.  I used to not be so great with follow through.  That is, until my 35 Dates in 35 Days Project.  I have spent the days following Date 35 reflecting on what I have experienced.  (To be honest, I’m still taking it all in.  It was quite a whirlwind!  Revise that.  It is still quite a whirlwind!)  And I am astonished.  Astonished that 35 dates fell into place.  Astonished that I went out for 35 consecutive nights.  Even more astonished that I made a promise to myself – and saw it through.  It wasn’t always easy.  There were cancellations.  Substitutions.  Work emergenciesNights when I was so tired, I almost quit.  Times when I was so frustrated with my emotions that I wanted to throw in the towel.  There were bumps and bruises and scrapes.  But I made a committment to myself.  And I needed to honor it.  If I couldn’t, how could I expect anyone else to?  So I did.  I can’t put into words how great it feels to fulfill my own promise.  To have reached a goal.

 

 

I started wondering what else I could accomplish if I applied the same level of discipline as I did with the 35 Dates Project.
And suddenly my next “project” was crystal clear.  What are the results if I spend 35 consecutive days, doing 1 activity.  Specifically, what results if I work out daily for 35 consecutive days.  Weight loss?  Energy?  Changes to my social life?  Frustration?  Exposure to even more activities?  As I learned by going on 35 dates in 35 days, you can think you know where a road will take you but chances are you have no idea where you’ll arrive. It used to be that pushing outside of my comfort zone, was uncomfortable.  Now it’s staying within my comfort zone that makes me feel ill at ease.

 

I’ve already proven to myself that I have the ability to do something for 35 straight days.  But going out with people – is fun.  Going to a gym – is not.   So, much as I did with the 35 Dates Project, I made a promise to myself –  aloud, committed to a start date, and wrote it in pen (and you all know what that means) in my calendar.  Then I called up Team RITA member, Natalie.  There was no going back.

 

Fitness First Reston

 

Tonight was “Day 1.”  After 35 nights of going to restaurants, bars, plays, trapeze school, concerts, dances, art classes and more – motivating myself to walk through the doors of the gym was hard.  But, as always, Natalie was there to greet me with a hug and smile and reignited the motivation that I have for my fitness goals.  After 35 dates in 35 days, this should be a piece of cake!

 

Tonight,  I re-introduced myself to the treadmill.  I ran for 45 minutes, using the Jeff Galloway method (alternate between 2 minute runs and 1 minute walks).  And even that kicked my butt.  Project GetFit couldn’t have come at a better time!  Although I cursed and moaned the entire time I was running, after the run, I immediately felt energized and ran to Natalie eager to plot out the next 34 workouts.

 

Meet Natalie

 

Natalie suggested that I ease back into my routine, as 35 consecutive days of working out isn’t great for the body.  So we came up with a plan that will alternate different types of fitness activities over the 35 days.  Cardio, weights, yoga, walks, zumba and more.  Our goal isn’t only to show what happens if you stick with working out for 35 days but also to provide ideas for fitness activities that may be outside of the typical ones you think about.  Natalie will be along for this entire journey – reading the blogs, making comments, providing her assessments, guest blogging and answering your questions!

 

I can’t wait to see where this road takes me!

 

DAY 1:

WEIGHT:    X lbs  (it’s not the actual # that matters, but how much I lose over the 35 days)
ACTIVITY:  Running 45 minutes on the treadmill
RESULT:     Immediate energy post-work out to power me through the rest of the evening!

 

*Unlike the 35 Dates Project, Project GetFit won’t be the only topic of my blog posts – so be sure that you look for updates under the Category on the side called “Project GetFit.”  Doing so will allow you to filter and see only those blogs related to this project! 

Leave a Reply

