To Find Love Sometimes All You Need is A Little Nudge

9 Jan

Happy New Year!  The holidays were fabulous but I am VERY excited to be back to work, writing daily posts and sharing information to help you become more present in your relationships, more inspired and, ultimately, empowered!  The most important things I want you to see this year are 1) Dating is fun; 2) Being single is worth celebrating; and 3) Ideas 1 and 2 are not mutually exclusive!

I have so many exciting updates to share with you but, today, I’ll start with only one. 

I am now officially a DC Lady! 

Don’t worry, I haven’t moved out of the ‘burbs (yet) and Singles in the Suburbs, LLC is as strong as ever!  I am excited to announce that I am the author for The DC Ladies’ new dating, relationship & advice column, “Dating in the City!  The DC Ladies is a website that brings together mix of what is fun, fashionable, family related and just plain fabulous in our Capital Area for women – and I am very excited to be a new contributor!

 

 

 

You can click on this link to be taken to today’s post, “To Find Love Sometimes All You Need is a Little Nudge!”

Since this post went live, many people have e-mailed asking if they can see my “before” and “after” profiles for comparison.  I am more than happy to share these with you! 

I have MANY more announcements to make and am very excited for all that 2012 will bring!  I’m glad that you are along for the ride! 

 

BEFORE” PROFILE:

RitaKay876

Old Profile Picture

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am a friendly, approachable and generous person.  Naturally gregarious and talkative, I find it easy to meet and make friends with many people.  I’m good-natured although, at times, I can be blunt and sarcastic.  I will call you out without hesitation when I think you are wrong and would expect for you to do the same.  I love to cook and will make you a fabulous gourmet meal but will burn your popcorn in a flash!  I’m competitive but definitely know how to keep it to a friendly level of competition. I can’t go a day without tripping over my own feet or spilling something on my shirt.  I love simply “living” life and I really love people whose eyes light up when they are discussing something for which they are passionate!

As for you, you are comfortable in a t-shirt, jeans and flip-flops.  You like to entertain but, really, only for small groups of friends for a low-key evening.  You like to cook but love to grill.  Your favorite meal is a good steak with a cold beer. You “fix” things and will not hesitate to lecture me on the importance of proper tire pressure and frequent oil changes. You have a creative outlet, such as writing or music.  You won’t mind when I have a night out with the girls but, rather, will relish the time alone.  You smell like soap.

 

“AFTER” PROFILE:

SocialButterflyVA

New Profile Picture

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Self-Summary

Who am I?  A social butterfly who tends to smile pretty much every waking hour.  (I wonder if I smile in my sleep, too.)  Always on the go, I’m either planning a social event, trying a new restaurant, meeting new people wherever I go, or taking some sort of class to learn a different skill.  My latest endeavor?  Cooking classes!  (My specialty was burnt popcorn, so I figured I should do something about that.)  Next up will be salsa lessons.

Often being the planner for work, it’s nice to just be spontaneous when it comes to plans with friends.  I think my best quality is being open and accepting of anyone.  Everyone has something to offer, but you have to get to know them first to find out what it is.

What I’m doing with my life

When I realized that my career as a Solid Gold dancer wasn’t going to pan out, I decided to go to law school.  While I do enjoy the law, you’ll have to ask me what my real passion is…

I’m really good at…

Meeting new people.  I guess I didn’t listen when my parents told me not to talk to strangers because I’ll talk to pretty much anyone anywhere. 

Favorite books, music, movies, shows, and food

Books: I like reading about Tudor history.  With such a real-life drama, who needs fiction?

TV: Arrested Development (needed a fourth season), Modern Family, Lost, and I’m an HBO show geek – The Wire, True Blood, Boardwalk Empire

Movies: I like the offbeat humor of Best in Show, Waiting for Guffman, and Mighty Wind.  Occasionally, I might be found watching Harry Potter.

The six things I could never do without

  1. Social interaction (That’s the definition of an extrovert, right?)
  2. Good food and wine (I’m a steak girl.)
  3. Having something that drives me (and I’m not talking my car)
  4. My dog, Martini
  5. Local travel to unknown restaurants and attractions
  6. A good pair of comfy jeans

The most private thing I’m willing to admit

I’m a closet Lady Gaga fan.  (I guess I’ve been outed.)  And I try to stay up on pop culture, but I’m usually that girl who says, “You know that movie about that guy who did that thing?”  I know music and movies, just not the names.

You should message me if

You’re at home in social settings (since I always seem to be in them), you love dogs, and you’re not afraid of planes, trains, or boats since I love to travel.  And you brush and floss… you’d be surprised. 😉

I would love to hear any comments that you have on differences you notice, your own profiles, your thoughts about hiring someone to write a profile or online dating in general!

One Response to “To Find Love Sometimes All You Need is A Little Nudge”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shirts Off – It’s Time to Win a Prize! « Rita's Quest - January 11, 2012

    […] answer the fourth time he called.  Fireman had contacted me almost immediately after I uploaded my new profile to Match.com.  I don’t normally engage in multiple, back and forth, telephone calls when […]

Leave a Reply

