I Do My Little Turn on the Catwalk! (Rita’s Weekend Pick)

8 Feb

I hope to see all of you this Saturday, also known as “Valentine’s Weekend” for my third annual charity event, Stray Cats and Puppy Love!  I’ve got my new, sexy red, dress and am ready to flirt the night away to support The Washington Humane Society!  Be sure to stop by and give me a “kiss for a cause” when you arrive! I’ll be in the mood to smooch!

 

 

This year’s event is to benefit The Washington Humane Society and it’s all because I find myself a runway model for Fashion for Paws 2012!  Can you imagine ME on the RUNWAY?!  Actually, I will tell you a secret – I’ve imagined something like this all of my life!

 

Striking a pose since birth!

 

When I was five, I would glide down the stairs, dressed in my mother’s nightgown, a pair of her heels and strands of gold, shiny, plastic beads.  Placing my hand on my waist, I’d stick out my hip, press play on my Fisher Price tape player and yell “Hit it!”  Strutting down the hall, I’d look over my shoulder and pout.  I was the best model I knew! 

 

 

 

When a friend suggested that I walk as a fundraising model in The Washington Humane Society’s Fashion for Paws Fashion Show, I was hesitant. Why on earth would someone want ME in a fashion show?  When another friend e-mailed me suggesting the same thing, I was intrigued.  The fundraising models are people “of interest” in the DC area and, apparently, my 35 dates in 35 days project makes me interesting. 

 

 

 

My 35 dates project taught me that opportunities and people cross your path for reasons that are often not readily ascertainable.  Because of my 35 Dates project, I was asked to participate in Fashion for Paws 2012!  Who knows what exciting, life changing, opportunities may result from agreeing to be a fundraising model!  So I accepted the invitation!

 

Within days, I was signed, sealed and delivered – with one condition.  As a fundraising model, in order to walk the runway, I must raise $5,000 dollars.  Not one to be deterred, I brainstormed Stray Cats and Puppy Love” a hearty party for singles and couples to benefit The Washington Humane Society!  It’s for singles looking for a cool place to be on Valentine’s weekend and couples wanting to be where the party’s at!

 

 

 

There will be:

Free food
-Drink specials
-Dj/dancing
-Raffles (with prizes donated from over 20 area businesses)
Grand prize raffle for a VACATION PACKAGE (donated by Iris Lounge)
Free tarot card readings
-Contests
and MUCH more! 

 

For a $20 donation by purchasing advance tickets, or a $25 donation at the door, you can help care for abused, abandoned and homeless animals throughout the DC region.

You can find out all of the details by reading the event description, here, http://straycatpuppylove.eventbrite.com 

Please let everyone know – the event is open to the entire community! 
Can’t make it, but still want to donate?  You can do so at the link above as well!

 

Come ready to dance your heart out!  It’s going to be a great evening!

 

One Response to “I Do My Little Turn on the Catwalk! (Rita’s Weekend Pick)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Martini, Fashion and Stray Cats and Puppy Love « Rita's Quest - February 19, 2012

    […] someone would want to see me in a fashion show.  But, as I recently told you in my post, “I Do my Little Turn on the Catwalk,” opportunities and people cross your path for reasons that are often not readily […]

Leave a Reply

